My Oscar pick – Beasts of the Southern Wild

Image

 

“When it all goes quiet behind my eyes, I see everything that made me lying around in invisible pieces. When I look too hard, it goes away. And when it all goes quiet, I see they are right here. I see that I’m a little piece in a big, big universe.” – Hushpuppy

The Oscars are hurtling towards us this weekend and a lot has been said and written already. To me though something has been over looked and that is the inclusion of Beasts of the Southern Wild throughout Oscar categories. Best picture, Best Leading Actress and Best Direction are not to be sniffed at.

Michelle Obama has referred to the film recently saying the following: 

“It’s rare these days to find a movie that can so completely and utterly captivate such a broad audience and that was one of the things that struck me about this movie,” she said. “It managed to be beautiful, joyful and devastatingly honest.”

The first lady said “Beasts” makes viewers “think deeply about the people we love in our lives who make us who we are” and shows the strength of communities and the power they give others to overcome obstacles.

“It also tells a compelling story of poverty and devastation but also of hope and love in the midst of some great challenges,” she said.

Mrs. Obama also said it was “cool” that “there are so many important lessons to learn in that little 93 minutes.”

I couldn’t agree more this is a film about community, love and finding your place in the universe. I liked this film the first time I saw it and last night had the pleasure of seeing it again and can wholeheartedly say that I now adore this film.

Quvenzhane Wallis puts in an amazing performance and  is more than worthy of her nomination for best actress. The cinematography is just exceptional too, never has poverty looked so distressing and beautiful at the same time on screen. There are comedic moments,  dramatic moments and heartbreaking moments. This film is beautiful on every level and one that needs to be watched by everyone. 

Beasts of the Southern Wild could be the surprise of this weekend’s Oscars and I for one really hope so. 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

