The trouble with trailers.

I love trailers. For me they are big part of the cinema going experience. However, recently I have noticed a problem. In our internet age trailers are now not so much a cinematic experience as a YouTube experience and the rate at which they come out is astounding. Big films provide ad campaigns counting down the days and then the real problem comes…….release day.

With the Amazing Spider-Man 2 I was as excited as anyone (i’m a big comic nerd so why wouldn’t I) the trailer came out and looks great I was excited. I then found myself getting annoyed. No sooner was the trailer released than bloggers and online publications were dissecting the detail of the trailer and pondering what certain 3 sec clips could mean.

We are no longer a patient society. The new X-men film (Days of Future Past) will be released next year but already the director has voiced what the next project will be (X-Men:Apocalypse).

I’m not saying don’t watch trailers online that would be absurd. All I’m asking for is a little patience.

Let’s not jump to dissect trailers and what they may or may not show. Let’s not worry about the next project. Maybe an idea could be to wait until the actual film release go and enjoy it (or not) and then make a decision.

One thought on “

  1. Neil, you can’t be serious… a little patience?? Oh, you are serious. Oh dear. I fear you may be onto a complete loser as it seems you could be suggesting something close to d-e-l-a-y-e-d g-r-a-t-i-f-i-c-a-t-i-o-n, which, it seems, are now officially two very dirty words indeed in our society!
    I’m kidding by the way, and I’m with you 🙂 and as a parent I have been attempting to teach our children about delayed gratification from before they could even pronounce it…

Leave a Reply

