I am not a film snob. I’m just looking to better my diet.

Image

There was a time when a good old fashioned popcorn guzzling romp of a film was enough for me. However I think I may have changed.

I have just finished watching Dredd and during the course of the film I began to ponder why exactly I was not engaging as much as I used to with this type of film. It is after all a Friday night. An action film on a Friday night is a perfect fit after a working week right??

Well yes it is, let me be clear Dredd is not a terrible film but its just a very nothing film. When I mentioned I was going to watch it a couple of film friends on Twitter how great it was and how much I would enjoy it. So why did I not?

To be honest as I type I’m coming to the conclusion that meaningless action fodder is no longer for me. I can appreciate the cinematography and the direction in Dredd on a visceral level but that for me is all it holds. Its point and shoot rhetoric holds no draw for me. I spent a lot of time thinking it was comparable to The Raid with the main difference being guns instead of fists.

I didn’t enjoy The Raid particularly either I found it repetitive with its endless kick punch in a room to get the end of level storyline. My needs have changed. I want to be challenged. I want depth. I don’t want to watch something which is essentially an Xbox game played out in ‘real life’ that’s why I have an Xbox!

If it sounds like film snobbery its really not meant to be. What I’m trying to say is much like my journey of faith my ‘needs’ are now different and things have changed for me. The authors I read and listen to, the way I look at the Bible is totally different to how it was several years ago.  My views on certain things have in some cases had a complete turnaround. I want more, I want to go deeper, I want to be challenged.

I’m not saying Dredd or films like it are terrible at all. I am not a film snob (although I’m aware it sounds a lot like I am in this post). I’m just looking to better my diet.

Leave a Reply

