The Martian, Psalms and Wonder

martian-gallery3-gallery-image

“When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place,what is mankind that you are mindful of them, human beings that you care for them?” – Psalm 8 v 3-4 NIV

Last Monday night I saw Ridley Scott’s The Martian and if I’m honest it has stayed with me all week.

I loved the film and reviewed it in my previous post. I’ve spent the week contemplating scenes and remembering jokes from it as well as the disco soundtrack.

On Sunday I went to church and the verses above were read and I remembered The Martian again.

Space is the unknown and there is something in all of us (whether you have a faith or not) that wants to know more. Why is everything so perfectly laid out? The large distances involved in travel, the emptiness and yet at the same time a place filled with stars, planets and moons. Can it be coincidence that we have been given life on a planet the perfect distance from the sun to allow air, water & oxygen to help us survive? It baffles me and simultaneously fills me with awe.

How quickly and how regularly we forget. I’m grateful that The Martian helped me remember.

The Psalmist helps us to feel this wonder too. Psalm 8 is written by someone pondering their place amidst the vastness of the universe and at the same time pondering the care and concern of the create who made them. Which leads me to Sunday.

What am I here for? What is my vocation? How do I live that out in the world and show my faith? How do I live life in all it’s fulness?

I’ve been blogging for a little while now but Sunday made me realise how much I want to pursue this. I find so many strands of faith in the films I watch and I want to share that to hopefully help those ‘stumblers’ like me who don’t have all the answers.

This is a passion and it’s time to move up a gear. Already this week I’ve pushed a couple of doors and pleased to say they have not slammed in my face. It’s exciting and its scary.

I’m ready for the next step wherever the journey goes with this.

I hope that many of you will come with me.

Steve Stockman’s blog from Sunday on vocation is here. I hope it inspires you as it has me.

Leave a Reply

