Shawshank, Paris & Hope

shawshank

Hebrews 11:1 ‘Faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see’

Over the last few days I’ve written, rewritten and deleted this post. What right does someone who blogs on film have to post something on Paris? I’ve wrestled with the events for days. I’ve been grumpy, downbeat and upset by every news report I’ve watched and I’ve pondered how to respond.

As a Christian the automatic response people think I should have is to open my bible and be reassured that God’s plan is perfect, everything is under control. The truth is though that at times like these those clip note verses just don’t get the job done.

That is one of the reasons I  started this blog. Sometimes a film shows me something of God that fumbling through pages of a Bible, searching for a nugget of wisdom or clarity just doesn’t do.

The events of last weekend have affected me. They have left me broken hearted. They have left me to question in truth what is the point of having a faith.

Then I remembered Shawshank. I remembered Andy and I remembered what he said about hope.

Hope might be the one thing I have left.

Hope that God is in the chaos of Paris and through his people is restoring, and healing the wounds left behind.

Hope that people see that God is not confined to pages of a book but is active around us in the smallest of things and the grandest of gestures.

Hope that in some way this insignificant blog post helps anyone else wrestling with this like I regularly do.

Why do I have faith in spite of everything?

Because faith is being sure of what we hope for and hope is a good thing, maybe the best of things and no good thing ever dies.

 

 

Leave a Reply

